Awards > Horizon


Sponsored by EBSCO

NASIG seeks candidates for a grant to attend the Annual Conference. Established in 1985, NASIG is an independent organization working to advance and transform the management of information resources. Our ultimate goal is to facilitate and improve the distribution, acquisition, and long-term accessibility of information resources in all formats and business models.

DESCRIPTION OF AWARD: The purpose of the NASIG Horizon Award is to advance the profession by providing promising new information professionals with the opportunity to accelerate their knowledge and understanding of the management of information resources by networking and interacting with a wide range of dedicated professionals working in all segments of the information supply chain, including librarians, vendors, publishers, and all non-traditional serialists. The award provides the recipient with a firsthand introduction to NASIG by sponsoring attendance at the NASIG annual conference. NASIG will directly pay for conference registration and three nights lodging in addition to providing funds for travel expenses and meals not covered by conference registration. To encourage active participation in NASIG, the recipient will receive a one-year free NASIG membership and will be invited to serve on a NASIG committee the year following the award. Finally, the recipients essay will be published in the NASIG newsletter. 

ELIGIBILITY: This award is open to qualified applicants in any NASIG member country (defined for this purpose as the United States, Canada, Mexico, and Greenland). Applicants must currently be in a position of a professional nature with primary responsibilities for some aspect of information resource management, e.g. serials and/or e-resources acquisitions, resource metadata and discovery, scholarly communications, collections management, or digital publishing, vendor or agent, scholarly publisher. Applicants must have served in this position for no more than three years at the time of the application deadline and must not have been in a professional library or library-related position (e.g. book vendor, publisher) for more than five years at the time of the application deadline. Applicants must not have attended any previous NASIG conferences, but may have participated in a NASIG conference as a local volunteer. Applicants do not have to be a member of NASIG. Preference will be given to applicants whose career goals include professional growth and development in information resource management.



 The following materials are required to be submitted electronically either in Microsoft Word or plain text (.txt) format:

  • A completed application;
  • A reference questionnaire;
  • A current resume or curriculum vita;
  • An essay (1,000 words or less) discussing the 2018 NASIG conference theme "Transforming the Information Community" (Award winners' essays are retained in the NASIG archives.) 

Application forms and reference questionnaires will be available after November 1st through this website, and from the current Awards & Recognition Committee vice-chair. Applications will only be accepted in electronic form. Completed applications and all related materials should be emailed :

Jennifer Leffler

Vice-Chair, NASIG Awards & Recognition Committee

University of Northern Colorado



APPLICATION DEADLINE: Applications and related materials must be emailed by February 9, 2018. Applications emailed after this date will not be considered.

AWARD NOTIFICATION: The award recipient will be notified by March 14, 2018.