Awards > Riddick


NASIG seeks candidates for grants to attend the Annual Conference. Established in 1985, NASIG is an independent, international organization committed to promoting communication and sharing of ideas among all people working with or concerned about serial publications.

DESCRIPTION OF AWARD: The student grants are named in honor of John F. Riddick, co-founder and first elected president of NASIG in 1986. The idea for student grants came from John, and they were first awarded in 1988. Since a number of grant winners have gone on to become serialists, NASIG members and members of the NASIG leadership, the executive board finds it fitting to honor John’s contribution to the library profession by naming the student grants for him.

Through the granting of these awards, NASIG desires to encourage participation in the serials information chain by students who are interested in pursuing some aspect of serials work upon completion of their professional degrees. Each year the annual conference is held in a different city where the various segments of the serials community (including publishers, vendors, and librarians) meet in an informal setting to network and share information. The conference includes the presentation of papers, panels, workshops, tours, and social events.

Recipients are expected to attend the entire conference and submit a brief written report to NASIG, which will be excerpted for publication in the NASIG Newsletter. Expenses for travel within North America, registration, and three nights lodging will be paid by NASIG. Conference registration includes most meals, and a stipend of $75 is intended to offset the cost of meals not included and transportation between the airport and the conference hotel. Each recipient will also receive a year's free membership in NASIG.

ELIGIBILITY: This award is open to qualified students in any NASIG member country (defined for this purpose as the United States, Canada, Mexico, and Greenland). Students who are currently enrolled in a Master's, Doctorate, or Specialist degree program in Library and Information Studies, and who have expressed an interest in some aspect of serials work, are eligible. Applicants must be full- or part-time students at the time of application. In order to accept an award, a recipient must not be employed in a position requiring an ALA-accredited degree, or on leave from such a position, at the time of acceptance of the grant. Equal consideration will be given to all qualified applicants, with preference given to those earning their degrees the year of the conference. Students do not have to be NASIG members to apply, and they must not have earned their degrees earlier than the end of the school year prior to the NASIG conference. Applicants must not have attended a previous NASIG conference, but may have participated in a NASIG conference as a local volunteer.

APPLICATION PROCEDURE: The following materials are required to be submitted electronically either in Microsoft Word or plain text (.txt) format:

Application forms and reference questionnaires will be available after November 1st through this Awards page, and from the current Awards & Recognition Committee chair. Applications will only be accepted in electronic form. Completed applications and all related materials should be emailed to:

Dana Whitmire
Chair, NASIG Awards & Recognition Committee
UT Health Science Center San Antonio
phone: 210-567-2464  

APPLICATION DEADLINE: Applications and related materials must be emailed by February 10, 2015. Applications emailed after this date will not be considered.

AWARD NOTIFICATION: The award recipient will be notified by February 20, 2015.