Awards > Schwartz


NASIG invites applicants for the Fritz Schwartz Serials Education Scholarship. Established in 1985, NASIG is an independent, international organization committed to promoting communication and sharing of ideas among all people working with or concerned about serial publications. More information about NASIG is available at

DESCRIPTION OF AWARD: NASIG awards a $3,000 scholarship to a library/information science graduate student who demonstrates excellence in scholarship and the potential for accomplishment in a serials career. The purpose of the scholarship is to advance the serials profession by providing an aspiring library student who has prior serials experience with enhanced educational opportunities.

The scholarship is named in honor of Fritz Schwartz, who was a well-known and highly respected authority on Electronic Data Interchange (EDI), the Internet, and library standards. A frequent  speaker at NASIG annual conferences, his last NASIG appearance was to conduct a highly rated workshop at the 10th Conference at Duke University. He actively participated in the National Information Standards Organization (NISO) and the International Committee on EDI for Serials (ICEDIS). At the time of his death, Fritz was Manager of Electronic Services and Standards at the Faxon Company. NASIG is pleased to offer this scholarship in memory of Fritz's many contributions to the library profession and to honor his energy, warmth, humor, and passion for standards.

In addition to the scholarship, the recipient will receive a NASIG Conference Student Grant Award to attend the NASIG conference for the year in which the scholarship is given. Expenses for travel within North America, registration, and three nights lodging will be paid by NASIG. Conference registration includes most meals, and a stipend of $75 is intended to offset the cost of meals not included and transportation between the airport and the conference hotel. The recipient will also receive a year's free membership in NASIG.

ELIGIBILITY: This award is open to qualified students in any NASIG member country (defined for this purpose as the United States, Canada, Mexico, and Greenland). At the time the scholarship is awarded, the applicant must be entering an ALA-accredited graduate library program (or Mexican equivalent) or must have completed no more than twelve hours of academic requirements towards the graduate degree at the time of enrollment. The applicant must have serials-related work experience and a desire to pursue a professional serials career after earning the graduate library degree.

The award winner will also be required to be enrolled for a minimum of six credit hours of library/information science courses per semester/quarter during the academic year that the award is granted. The award winner will be ineligible to reapply for the scholarship. At least one scholarship will be awarded per academic year.


The following materials are required to be submitted electronically either in Microsoft Word or plain text (.txt) format:

  • A completed application form;
  • Reference questionnaire from two information professionals;
  • A current resume or curriculum vita;
  • A statement describing how the applicant's qualifications satisfy the eligibility requirements and the purpose of the award (not to exceed 250 words)
  • A copy of the applicant's current Library/Information Science Graduate transcript or proof of admission if enrollment begins in Fall 2015. This item may be sent in paper form if necessary. (Note: A sealed, official transcript will be required from the winner before the awarding of the scholarship funds can occur. If the winner has yet to complete any Library/Information Science Graduate coursework at the time that scholarship funds are awarded, a sealed, official transcript may be requested after the first semester of coursework has been completed.)

Application forms and reference questionnaires will be available after November 1st, through the NASIG Awards web page, and from the current Awards & Recognition Committee chair. Applications will only be accepted in electronic form (except for the transcript/proof of admission, if necessary). Completed applications and all related materials should be emailed to:

Dana Whitmire
Chair, NASIG Awards & Recognition Committee
UT Health Science Center San Antonio
phone: 210-567-2464   

ONLY the applicant's current Library Science Graduate transcript or proof of admission to an ALA-accredited program may be faxed.

APPLICATION DEADLINE: Applications and related materials must be emailed by February 10, 2015. Applications emailed after this date will not be considered.

AWARD NOTIFICATION: The award recipient will be notified by February 20, 2015.