Part of NASIG’s mission is to promote ‘the development and implementation of best practices and standards for the distribution, acquisition and long-term accessibility of information resources in all formats and business models throughout their lifecycle.’ This committee’s purpose is:

  • to represent the NASIG community in standards-related initiatives or organizations including e.g., NISO and Project COUNTER
  • to provide a means by which feedback from the NASIG community can be channeled into broader standards development efforts
  • to educate and inform NASIG members about the importance and relevance of standards work
  • to recruit NASIG members for active participation in new or ongoing standards development as needed or desired.

One or more committee members will be specifically designated as NASIG’s official representative to the various groups with which we interact. For example: for NISO, two committee members will be expected to coordinate our relationship with that peer organization, including voting on ballots and other proposals on behalf of NASIG, and contributing NASIG members’ views to NISO discussions.

If you have questions you may email the Standards Committee.

Chair: Jennifer Combs (Kansas City Public Library), 16/17-21/22

Vice-Chair: Vacant


Melissa Belvadi (University of Prince Edward Island), 2018/19 - 2020/21
Beverly Geckle (Middle Tennessee State University), 2016/17-2021/22
Christina Geuther (Kansas State University), 2016/17-2018/19
Mark Hemhauser (University of California, Berkeley), 2016/17-2020/21
Pat Kenney (Wheaton College), 2017/18-2021/22
Peter McCracken (Cornell University), 2018/19-2022/23
Fiona McNabb (Computercraft), 2017/18-2021/22
Tessa Minchew (North Carolina State University), 2016/17-2020/21
Matthew Ragucci (Wiley), 2018/19-2022/23
Emily Ray (University of North Florida), 2016/17-2018/19

Board Liaison: Maria Hatfield

Committee Documentation
Committee Manual
Working Calendar